Really? That’s What They’re Singing?

I’m sure most of us have done it before,

 we’re singing merrily along thinking we know darn good & well what the words to the song we are singing are.

Until,

 someone starts laughing at you.

Not because we can’t carry a tune (which could very well be the case with me)

but because we’ve managed to mutilate the lyrics.

I can think of 2 songs off the top of my head that I’ve done that with.

Don Henley – Boys of Summer

These are the real lyrics:

Nobody on the road,
nobody on the beach.
I feel it in the air,
the summers out of reach

Empty lake, empty streets,
the sun goes down alone.
I’m driving by your house
though I know that you not home…

And I can see you
you brown skin shining in the sun
you got your hair combed back
sunglasses on baby.

And where they say “Your brown skin shining in the sun”, I remember thinking it was “Your breasts keep shining in the sun” (Like bikinis people!) That’s what I thought until one day my friend and I were riding along in the car, singing at the top of our lungs, and she stopped, mid lyric, and started laughing hysterically at me.

Good times!

Then there is a song most of us know, Winter Wonderland.

This time of the year always brings back this memory.

One of the verses’ goes like this:

Later on, we’ll conspire,
As we dream by the fire
To face unafraid,
The plans that we’ve made,

Walking in a winter wonderland.

(I hear you singing!)

As a child, I remember our family riding home in the car singing along with the radio to this very song when my mom, stopped & started to laugh hysterically and my older brother muttered “What a dork” when they heard me singing;

“Later on we’ll perspire, as we dream by the fire”.

I don’t know about you, but I can see where MY lyrics make perfect sense.

In fact, I still sing MY lyrics sometimes.

Who among us hasn’t gotten a little too warmed up by the fire and had a little perspiration?

So now that I’ve shared some of my embarrassing lyric mishaps,

What songs & lyrics have you messed up in the past?

12 thoughts on “Really? That’s What They’re Singing?

  1. I loved this little post. It really brightened up my day. And I too have made the exact same mistake with winter wonderland (perspire/conspire) my family still gets on my case about it!
    Cheers

    Like

  2. LMAO!! I can’t think of any at the moment, but I know I’ve butchered my fair share of music.

    When I’m not sure of lyrics, I go to lyrics.com or something similar and try to get the words right. Sometimes even the lyrics on those sites aren’t correct.

    This was funny! Great post!

    Like

  3. I sing the wrong lyrics all of the time. My biggest source of teasing as a kid was with Rod Stewart’s “You’re In My Heart:”
    The real chorus–You’re in my heart, you’re in my soul
    You’ll be my breath should I grow old
    You are my lover, you’re my best friend
    You’re in my soul
    My version of the chorus–You’re in my heart, you’re in my soul
    You are my precious Idaho
    You are my mother, you’re my best friend
    You’re in my show!

    It made perfect sense to me! 🙂

    Like

  4. My husband has a habit of making up lyrics to songs. And I tend to enjoy his much more anyway. Though a lot of his songs end up talking about chicken or Pikachu (of Pokemon fame). Seriously though…it’s amazing the number of songs that you could actually fit either of those words in to!

    Like

  5. Love this post…I’m sure we all have songs like this, some we find out later we had wrong and others that we remain blissfuly unaware as we belt out the lyrics! My daughter was singing the Canadian national anthem in kindergarten very proudly and had one line wrong…we didn’t tell her for several weeks because she was having so much fun singing this new song. See below for the line.

    O Canada!
    Our home and native land!
    True patriot love in all thy sons command.

    With glowing hearts we see thee rise,
    The True North strong and free!

    From far and wide,
    O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.
    (…her words… WE STAND ON OUR TWO FEET)

    God keep our land glorious and free!
    O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.

    O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.

    Like

  6. Count me in the group who can murder lyrics with the best of them. My favorite memory is singing from the hymnal, being ever so shy, sort of murmering, knowing I will make a mistake. Bad, I know. A kindly gentlemen in back of me tapped my shoulder and stated ” Sing your best and be proud of it…God gives us credit for enthusiasm.” That was more than 20 years ago and I plagerize that line every chance I get when someone says they cannot sing. It’s OK! God gives us credit…and smiles frequently I am sure. Love your post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

