It was a Beautiful, Strange Day

Have you ever had a day where you saw more than one strange thing and just said WTF?

This last Monday was one of those days. It was a gorgeous day, the last day of a busy 4 day weekend for me.

Earlier in the morning, I walked a spectacular golf course with colors abounding.

It was so beautiful it was downright spiritual.

Then I met up with a great friend I’ve known since I was 16, (which was only a few years ago? HA!).

We had breakfast at a small town pub and then decided to explore the countryside.

Along the way I saw a tree with these laying under.

They look like alien brains!

Maybe I’m just too much of a suburbia girl that I’ve never seen this before but it was downright strange.

Anyone know what these are?

 

We were exploring Missouri wine country.

I live very close to Missouri wine country but not close enough!

I don’t say that because I’m a wino, I say that because Missouri wine country is downright beautiful.

Its made up of rolling hills looking over river bottoms, and small towns with quaint stores.

 

This is a winery just down the road from where that friend of mine lives. (It was taken a few days before.)

But on the day that we were exploring the countryside, we saw these and said “What the….?”

These are in someones yard, smack dab in the middle of one of those tiny quaint towns. I’d guess the population to not be more than 100 or so. 

More exploring, down gravel roads (in my formerly clean black car) and more beautiful color.

Again, if you knew how many pictures I took on this day, you’d laugh at me. 

 You’d say, “You’re so Craaaazzy”.

So my friend and I, we head back to the small town pub where we had coffee & breakfast.

Thats also where we had lunch.

There’s no Mc’y anything in this neck of the woods (Thank God).

I then give my dear friend a hug and we promise to get together again soon.

And I head home.

(The following were taken with my cell phone, G2 was put away resting after one heck of a workout, so that is why they is not the best quality.)

On my way home I see this:

 And you’re saying, “So?”

(Don’t you just love how I read your minds?)

I pass this road fairly often.

So imagine my surprise when I saw a tree taller than all in the land, towering over everything else.

Originally, I thought I was really losing it. That someone as visual as myself has missed this towering tree after all of these years.

Then logic set in and I realized I would have never have missed this tree….So….wtf?

Then I got closer.

(For the record, I was sitting at a stop light when taking this picture.)

So….its a pole, not a tree at all,

Nothing connected to it.

Except for what I can only assume are fake branches.

and I said…..

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm……

12 thoughts on “It was a Beautiful, Strange Day

  1. Yeah, don’t you love those “cell phone towers”. I knew immediately what it was when I saw the picture. They’re all over here in the NE, and look particularly funny in the Pocono Mts. All of a sudden there’s this arrow straight pine sticking up taller than the rest of the tree line. It IS better looking than seeing a metal tower.

    As for the colorful little sheds, reminds me of a building in Lancaster County (Amish Country) along Rt. 30, a VERY busy highway with much older housing and historical buildings. Then right there you see it. A bright orange building with bright blue trim. Stands out like a sore thumb! My friend called it the house of “ill repute”. Not sure what it’s purpose is, but it’s just aweful!

    Like

  2. Is that green thing about the size of a softball? I don’t know what it is either, but I’ve seen them now and again. I’ve never seen them with anyone who could tell me anything other than what I already figured out myself – that they came from the tree they were under.

    Like

  3. i would have to say that the yellow thing is a mushroom of some sort? and i think the colorful sheds are pretty! and for the fake pine pole, i think i would rather just see a pole, it reminds me of a pipe cleaner.

    Like

  4. Nothing wrong with being a wino…just as long as you disguise it by saying…”we were touring wine country!” Beautiful pictures! We have a lot of those cell towers here in So. Cal., and since we are heavy on concrete and light on trees, they stick out….well, like a fake tall tree!
    Have a great day 🙂

    Like

  5. That’s funny for two reasons: 1)I didn’t know Missouri had a wine country–I figured it’d be too hot. 2) I’m touring part of our local wine country this weekend.

    I spotted the fake tree right away. It looks better than the gray metal towers, but needs more branches.

    Like

  6. Hi – came across your blog & started laughing & ohh & aahhing over your pics. I do believe I’ve seen those weird bubbly vegetables at my market…, but never bought one.., so looking forward to you enlightening me.
    Great photos – weird cell phone tower, here in Oz they wouldn’t think of attempting to camouflage it…, yep…, I did say attempting to.
    Looking forward to connect.
    Cheers Anna

    Like

Leave a Reply

