21 comments on “Help! My Melanin is Missing!

  1. OMG thanks for posting. I know exactly what you mean. I am missing my melanin also. LOL. I am very light skinned and have the most difficult time tanning. I have tried to tan and it just doesn’t happen. And yes, there is always someone who has to make a comment about how dang white you are.

    Thanks again.

  2. I am normally pale too and had a supervisor once claim out in shock about how white I was. Um, what the hell do I say to that? Thank you?

    Ohhh! And one other time, in January- the dead of freaking winter, I went for an OBGYN appointment with a new doctor. Her first words to me was a comment on how WHITE I was!! She was pregnant- I wanted to reply “My, how FAT you are”. Never went back to her. SOME PEOPLE! hmph.

  3. Pingback: The Essence Of Kojic Acid | Healthy Man

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Help! My Melanin is Missing! « Mamarazzi pages -- Topsy.com

  5. I know I responded to this on BlogFrog already, but I feel so strongly about it. It took me a long time to come to terms with my “paleness”, and embrace my light skin tone. I grew up in AZ and now live in FL- lands full of 1) tanned people and 2)Hispanic people. Light skin is not highly regarded in either state.

    But I am proud of it. I take care of it. I baby it. And someday, I will be grateful that I took ownership of my complexion at a young age.

    • Thank you for chiming in and I can completely relate. Even though I live in Missouri, its not highly regaurded here either. I think thats one reason I wrote this post, because even though I’m fine with myself, I want others to consider the different aspects of our side of the situation so maybe next time they will think before they speak.

  6. All Hail the Pale People!!! And if people aren’t making fun of my paleness they are overly concerned that I am “burning” in the sun! Unfortunately my children are also as pale as my husband and myself. I give them credit they deal with it well! Great post – thank you!

  7. Great post! I’m so pale that people call me Casper. I live in Florida too, and people are always so surprised at how light my skin is. I’ve actually learned to love it, and try to stay out of the sun as much as possible!

  8. AMEN!
    You know those magazine articles: Who Wore it Better?
    Once the comment under the photo of the person who got the NOT BETTER indication read something to the effect of: She is too pale to be pretty.
    I was horrified.
    Can you imagine if someone wrote: She is too black to pretty?

    PS: I was nick-named Casper too! (in high school, in, yep, you guessed Florida!)

  9. I live in the great white north. Fortunately, pale complexion is rather frequent here. Nonetheless, I’m still whiter than any white people I know. I have cystic fibrosis, I think that’s kind of part of it (maybe has something to do with nutrient deficiency).
    I have always made a laugh of of it, calling “white rod festival” while looking at my legs when they are showing. If someone says that I should tan, I simply tell them that “I can’t, I burn”. I often go swimming with a shirt and a hat, too. I think the message is pretty clear.

    You should do a campaign or something to sensitize people to how bad sun is for your skin and that tanning on purpose is kind of dumb, too.
    You should use that as an example of how bad it is : http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2012/06/06/bill-mcelligott-sun-damage_n_1573546.html

Leave a Reply

